Wrapping up this awards week

Jenifer Langosch/MLB.com

With today’s MVP announcement, MLB’s awards season (at least the bulk of it) has come to an end. Dodgers starter Clayton Kershaw took home NL MVP honors, becoming the first NL pitcher since St. Louis’ Bob Gibson in 1968 to win both the MVP and Cy Young awards. Three Cardinals players received votes on the 30 MVP ballots, which each list a first- through 10th-place finisher.

Adam Wainwright placed eighth, with 53 points. He was named on 14 ballots and was as high as fifth on one of them. Matt Holliday and Jhonny Peralta each received 17 points, tying them for 14th. Holliday appeared on four ballots, Peralta on seven.

For a full breakdown on the MVP voting, click here.

The Cardinals had no one place higher than third in the voting for any of the four major Baseball Writers’ Association of America awards. Kolten Wong finished third in the Rookie of the Year race, while Wainwright had the same placement in Cy Young voting. Mike Matheny was fourth for the Manager of the Year Award.

The lone postseason awards the Cardinals have collected both went to Yadier Molina, winner of his seventh Gold Glove and third Platinum Glove.

I should remind you that voting for the final set of 2014 MLB awards — the GIBBYS (Greatness in Baseball Yearly) — is still ongoing at MLB.com. Aside from the Platinum Glove award, this is the only one to incoporate fan voting in the results. You can find the GIBBYs ballot here.

Follow me on Twitter (@LangoschMLB), Instagram (LangoschMLB) and Facebook (Jenifer Langosch for Cardinals.com)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: