Matheny gets award recognition; Lohse up next

Jenifer Langosch/

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America handed out its Manager-of-the-Year awards on Tuesday; Washington’s Davey Johnson and Oakland’s Bob Melvin took home respective league honors.

First-year Cardinals manager Mike Matheny did show up in the final vote tabulations, however, as he was the recipient of one third-place votes. The 32 writers voting for the award put three managers on their ballots. Writer David Lennon of Newsday gave his third-place vote to Matheny. San Diego’s Bud Black also received one third-place vote, tying him with Matheny for fifth place in the NL voting.

Johnson, Dusty Baker, Bruce Bochy and Fredi Gonzalez finished in the top four slots. You’d have to think, too, that had voting taken place after the postseason, Bochy’s total would have climbed significantly. But, by rule, ballots must be cast by the end of the regular season.

Wednesday focus will be the Cy Young award. The winners will be announced during MLB Network’s 5-6 p.m. CT telecast. While we already know that Kyle Lohse will not have a top 3 finish, he will be among the pitchers receiving votes. Writers list five choices on their Cy Young ballot.

Stay tuned for the results.

Follow me on Twitter: @LangoschMLB

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: