La Russa announces lineup

Jenifer Langosch/

Former Cardinals manager Tony La Russa has announced his starting lineup for Tuesday’s All-Star Game and has named San Francisco’s Matt Cain his starting pitcher. Carlos Beltran will be starting in right field and is slated to bat fifth, behind Reds first baseman Joey Votto. Starting shortstop Rafael Furcal fits in the ninth spot in the lineup.

Here are the lineups:


  1. Carlos Gonzalez (DH)
  2. Melky Cabrera (CF)
  3. Ryan Braun (LF)
  4. Joey Votto (1B)
  5. Carlos Beltran (RF)
  6. Buster Posey (C)
  7. Pablo Sandoval (3B)
  8. Dan Uggla (2B)
  9. Rafael Furcal (SS)

Pitcher: Matt Cain


  1. Derek Jeter (SS)
  2. Robinson Cano (2B)
  3. Josh Hamilton (LF)
  4. Jose Bautista (RF)
  5. Prince Fielder (1B)
  6. Adrian Beltre (3B)
  7. David Ortiz (DH)
  8. Mike Napoli (C)
  9. Curtis Granderson (CF)

Pitcher: Justin Verlander

Follow me on Twitter: @LangoschMLB

1 Comment

If Matt Cain gets the start for the NL, what do you thinkthe plan is for Mets pitcher RA Dickey? Also, do you have ny idea how and when LaRussa will use David Wright?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: